Driving With A Suspended License

Pasco & New Port Richey – Suspended Drivers License Defense Attorney

Your driver’s license can actually be suspended without your knowledge. This can turn into a major problem if you’re pulled over by the police and they run your record. Call 727-843-0097.

Is Your DMV Record Clean? You May Be Surprised

Misdemeanor and perhaps even felony charges can be brought against you. People who are largely law-abiding may not realize that they’re only one traffic stop away from possibly being put behind bars or facing steep fines.
We all know that DUIs and other serious offenses can result in a suspended license. However, some of the most common reasons that driver’s licenses get suspended unknowingly are:

New Port Richey & Pasco County Suspended License Point System

  • Accumulating too many points
    • 12 points in one year = 30-day suspension
    • 18 points in 18 months = three-month suspension
    • 24 points in three years = one-year suspension
  • Driving without adequate auto insurance
  • Unpaid traffic tickets
  • Nonpayment of child support
  • Failure to file an accident report to the DMV
  • Refusal to submit to a breath test

Penalty For Driving With A Suspended License

The state attorney has to prove whether you knowingly or unknowingly were driving with a suspended license, but if you are found guilty you can be sentenced to:

  • First Offense: This is a misdemeanor that could result in 60 days in jail and a $500 fine.
  • Second Offense: If within five years of your prior offense you could face misdemeanor charges, up to one year in jail, a $500 fine and have your vehicle seized.
  • Third Offense: If within five years of your prior offenses you could face felony charges: up to five years in jail, a $5,000 fine, have your vehicle seized, your work permit suspended for one year and classified as a habitual traffic offender.

Pasco County Suspended License Criminal Defense Attorney

The faster you contact me, a lawyer at Frank P. Bianco, P.A., the better chance you have to avoid a license suspension. If this has already happened, I may be able to get it reinstated.

Remember, if you receive a letter in the mail from the DMV that says your license has been suspended, signing and paying a fine means you have admitted that you are guilty. That record stays with you and can lead to further problems.

In Florida alone, nearly 350,000 citations were issued for driving with a suspended license over one year. Whether you are a habitual traffic offender or just an unknowing driver, Frank P. Bianco, P.A., can help you.

Serving The Driving Rights of People Around Pasco & New Port Richey – Call 727-843-0097

I have read the disclaimer. Privacy Policy.

Check Out Our Criminal Defense Reviews

Memberships & Certifications

Request a Free Consultation

We offer extremely flexible appointments, with availability 24 hours a day, seven days a week. If you are injured, we will not hesitate to travel to meet with you.

8300 Massachusetts Avenue
New Port Richey, FL 34653

Phone

Fax

727.843.8448