What to Expect for Your First DUI

What to Expect for a First Time Offense for DUI

Whether you were out with friends for a couple beers after work or spent all day getting hammered at a pool party, any amount of alcohol in your system while driving can lead to a DUI.

If it is your first offense, the charges will usually be minimal compared to 2nd or 3rd convictions but any DUI charge is still very serious.

In most cases, for first time offenders in Florida, a DUI will result in a misdemeanor rather than a felony. In the case that you were driving under the influence with a passenger under the age of 18 or in an accident resulting in serious bodily injury, the charges could be much more severe and could potentially result in a felony.

What Happens When You Get a DUI for the First Time?

If you are pulled over for a DUI you will likely be asked to perform a roadside test and a breathalyzer test. If you are found to be over the legal limit your vehicle will likely be impounded and you will be brought in so the officer or authorized personnel can draw your blood.

If you are found guilty of driving under the influence your license will be suspended automatically beginning sixty days after the incident date.

For first time offenders, your license may be suspended for 180 days or up to a year. You will also likely be required to take alcohol counseling and may not be able to have your license reinstated until all required courses have been completed.

In case you are kept in jail on your first DUI, we advise to try to bail out as quickly as possible. The cost of bail on a first time DUI charge will be usually around $1,000. You can as well hire a bail bond for a tenth of that – about $100.

Improve Your Odds of Beating Your DUI with an Attorney

Know that you can minimize the charges or even have them dropped altogether with the assistance of an experienced lawyer.

Are You Facing DUI Charges In New Port Richey? Tell Us About It.

I have read the disclaimer. Privacy Policy.

New Port Richey & Pasco DUI Attorney – Read Our Reviews

Leave a Comment

Memberships & Certifications

Request a Free Consultation

We offer extremely flexible appointments, with availability 24 hours a day, seven days a week. If you are injured, we will not hesitate to travel to meet with you.

8300 Massachusetts Avenue
New Port Richey, FL 34653

Fax

727.843.8448